Lucille BallOne of the first television shows I remember watching was I Love Lucy. As I child, I thought Lucy’s madcap adventures working in the chocolate factory and hawking Vitametavegamin were a riot. As an adult, I still enjoy watching the show in reruns, and her movie The Long, Long Trailer is one of the funniest films I’ve ever seen. Over the years, I’ve also gained a far greater appreciation for Lucille Ball as a groundbreaking actress and comedienne and as a businesswoman and television pioneer.

August 6 is Lucille Ball’s birthday. She would have been 100 this year. If you’re interested in learning more about this incredible lady, the SDSU Library has many resources for you to explore. The Media Center has recordings of her television shows and movies, including The Long, Long Trailer. Do yourself a favor: check out some of these recordings and watch this woman act. If laughter is, indeed, the best medicine, you’ll have added at least five years to your life. And if you want to learn more about the woman behind the laughter, I’ve listed some of the books we have about Lucille Ball.

Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead. – Lucille Ball

Media Sources
Ball of Fire: The Tumultuous Life and Comic Art of Lucille Ball
Love, Lucy
Lucille: The Life of Lucille Ball